Hydrology & Water Resources

Hydrology and water resources is a broad, interdisciplinary field that includes hydrology, water quality, and aquatic ecology. We engage in research across the spectrum of water resources, often interacting with colleagues in law, economics, and public policy.

Faculty Members

Shahzeen Z. Attari
Assistant Professor

sattari@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1467
SPEA 347

  • Human behavior and resource use
  • Environmental psychology
  • Social dilemmas

Christopher B. Craft
Director, Ph.D. Program in Environmental Science

ccraft@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1837
MSBII 408

  • Wetland restoration and ecosystem development
  • Wetlands and water quality
  • Wetlands and climate change, including carbon sequestration and peat accretion

Hendrick Haitjema
Professor Emeritus

haitjema@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0563

  • Groundwater flow modeling, including regional groundwater flow systems, conjunctive surface water and groundwater flow modeling, three-dimensional groundwater flow, and saltwater intrusion problems
  • Emphasis on application of analytic functions to modeling groundwater flow, specifically the analytic element method

Melissa A. Laney
Senior Lecturer

mlaney@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6905
SPEA 445

  • Limnology
  • Lake and Watershed Management
  • Aquatic and Terrestrial Habitats
  • Implementing Sustainability Initiatives on Campus and Community

Kimberly A. Novick
Assistant Professor

knovick@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3010
MSBII 316

  • Forest Ecology
  • Ecosystem Carbon and Water Cycling
  • Biometeorology

Todd V. Royer
Associate Professor

troyer@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0563
MSBII 426

  • Aquatic biogeochemistry
  • Water resources
  • Nutrient and carbon cycling in streams and rivers
  • Water quality and nutrient standards

Joseph Shaw
Associate Professor

joeshaw@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0732
SPEA 410

  • Environmental Toxicology
  • Environmental Genomics
  • Comparative Physiology

Adam S. Ward
Assistant Professor

adamward@indiana.edu
812-856-4820
MSB-II 430

  • Environmental science
  • Watershed management
  • Hydroscience
  • Engineering

Jeffrey R. White
Professor

whitej@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0084
MSBII 412

  • Environmental Biogeochemistry
  • Climate Change
  • Aquatic Chemistry
  • Limnology