Applied Ecology

We study the interaction of organisms—plants, animals and micro-organisms—with their environment. We also examine the effects of human activities on those interactions, including species relations, ecosystem processes, and changes in landscapes and the biosphere. Applied ecologists work to implement sustainable land use and agro-ecology, conserve species and ecosystems, ameliorate soil, water, and air pollution, and to restore degraded habitats.

Faculty Members

Christopher B. Craft
Director, Ph.D. Program in Environmental Science

ccraft@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1837
MSBII 408

  • Wetland restoration and ecosystem development
  • Wetlands and water quality
  • Wetlands and climate change, including carbon sequestration and peat accretion

Burnell C. Fischer
Clinical Professor Emeritus

bufische@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0441
513 N. Park Ave., Ostrom Workshop

  • Forestry, particularly community and urban forest management practices and policies
  • Natural resource governance and policy
  • Silviculture and growth and development of Central Hardwood forest stands

Marc L. Lame
Clinical Associate Professor

mlame@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5249
SPEA 341B

Melissa A. Laney
Senior Lecturer

mlaney@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6905
SPEA 445

  • Limnology
  • Lake and Watershed Management
  • Aquatic and Terrestrial Habitats
  • Implementing Sustainability Initiatives on Campus and Community

Vicky J. Meretsky
Director, Master of Science in Environmental Science (MSES) Program

meretsky@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4944
SPEA 260

  • Landscape-level conservation
  • Conservation under climate change
  • Ecology and management of rare species
  • Integrating ecosystem research and endangered species management within adaptive management

Kimberly A. Novick
Assistant Professor

knovick@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3010
MSBII 316

  • Forest Ecology
  • Ecosystem Carbon and Water Cycling
  • Biometeorology

Todd V. Royer
Associate Professor

troyer@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0563
MSBII 426

  • Aquatic biogeochemistry
  • Water resources
  • Nutrient and carbon cycling in streams and rivers
  • Water quality and nutrient standards

Joseph Shaw
Associate Professor

joeshaw@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0732
SPEA 410

  • Environmental Toxicology
  • Environmental Genomics
  • Comparative Physiology

Jeffrey R. White
Professor

whitej@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0084
MSBII 412

  • Environmental Biogeochemistry
  • Climate Change
  • Aquatic Chemistry
  • Limnology